Home / The Staves / The Staves - Dead & Born & Grown

The Staves
01. Wisely & Slow
02. Gone Tomorrow
03. The Motherlode
04. Pay Us No Mind
05. Facing West
06. In The Long Run
07. Dead & Born & Grown
08. Winter Trees
09. Tongue Behind My Teeth
10. Mexico
11. Snow
12. Eagle Song

Dead & Born & Grown is the debut album from folk-rock trio The Staves. The album is produced with Glyn and Ethan Johns, who have worked with a plethora of huge artists from past and present between them, including The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin, as well as the likes of The Vaccines, Kings of Leon and Kaiser Chiefs. The Staves are three sisters from Watford who share vocal duties in addition to some contributions on guitar and ukelele.

Three sisters, close harmony, a songwriting blend of Sandy Denny and the US West Coast (Joni, CSN&Y etc)… What's not to like?

Actually, for all the Staves' attachments to the English and American folk traditions, the most vivid tonal connection they make is with the early works of a pair of Canadian sisters, the McGarrigles. D&B&G is delicate and unaffected but clever and soulful – a balm and an inquisition. Refreshment for bruised ears.

The Independent


The Staves - Dead & Born & Grown

The Staves

CD (Cat No: 50604)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

The Staves - Dead & Born & Grown

More from The Staves