Home / Drive-by Truckers / Drive-By Truckers - Welcome 2 Club XIII

Drive-by Truckers
01. The Driver
02. Maria's Awful Disclosure
03. Shake and Pine
04. We Will Never Wake You in the Morning
05. Welcome 2 Club XIII
06. Forged in Hell and Heaven Sent
07. Every Single Storied Flameout
08. Billy Ringo in the Dark
09. Wilder Days

On the title track to Welcome 2 Club XIII, Drive-By Truckers pay homage to the Muscle Shoals honky-tonk where founding members Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley got their start: a concrete-floored dive lit like a disco, with the nightly promise of penny beer and truly dubious cover bands. “There were no cool bars in town and Club XIII was the best we had—but it wasn’t all that good, and our band wasn’t particularly liked there,” says Hood, referring to the vocalist/guitarists’ former band Adam’s House Cat. “From time to time the owner would throw us a Wednesday night or let us open for a hair-metal band we were a terrible fit for, and everyone would hang out outside until we were done playing. It wasn’t very funny at the time, but it’s funny to us now.” The 14th studio album from Drive-By Truckers—whose lineup also includes keyboardist/guitarist Jay Gonzalez, bassist Matt Patton, and drummer Brad Morgan—Welcome 2 Club XIII looks back on their formative years with both deadpan pragmatism and profound tenderness, instilling each song with the kind of lived-in detail that invites bittersweet reminiscence of your own misspent youth.

Drive-By Truckers - Welcome 2 Club XIII

Drive-by Truckers

CD (Cat No: 98756)

£13.99 - £21.99
Add To Basket Add To Basket Listen to the album

Drive-By Truckers - Welcome 2 Club XIII

More from Drive-by Truckers