Home / Thompson Richard / Richard Thompson - Acoustic Classics

Thompson Richard
01. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight
02. Walking On The Wire
03. Wall of Death
04. Down Where The Drunkards Roll
05. One Door Opens
06. Persuasion
07. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
08. I Misunderstood
09. From Galway to Graceland
10. Valerie
11. Shoot Out The Light
12. Beeswing
13. When The Spell Is Broken
14. Dimming of the Day

Released on July 21 2014 - available now.

Acoustic Classics, a collection of newly recorded timeless Richard Thompson songs, features 14 tracks culled from his 40 plus year music career. For the first time ever, acoustic versions of songs like "I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight" and "Dimming of the Day" mingle with cornerstone classics like "1952 Vincent Black Lightning" and "Beeswing" as well as other acoustically rendered gems. "I really wanted to have something that would reflect the acoustic shows," Richard explains, "But we didn't have anything like that. Just some old, slightly scratchy recordings of solo sets that I wasn't really happy with." His last proper solo acoustic release was the live Small Town Romance, and that was more than 30 years ago! In the meantime, the acoustic shows have evolved as a full parallel to his band tours. Thompson was named by Rolling Stone Magazine's as one of the Top 20 Guitarists of all time and considered one of the UK's most outstanding songwriters and musicians. The recipient of a BBC Lifetime Achievement Award, Mojo's Les Paul Award and curator of the prestigious Meltdown Festival at the Southbank in 2010, Thompson was most recently honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting by the Americana Music Association.

This is the form to listen to these Richsrd Thompson classic songs - fans will probably have other versions of these - but they won't match these - and those who don't you are in for a rare treat - highly recommenfded.

June 2014

Richard Thompson - Acoustic Classics

Thompson Richard

CD (Cat No: 607899)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Richard Thompson - Acoustic Classics

More from Thompson Richard