Home / The Willows / The Willows - Through the Wild

The Willows
01. Coda
02. Better days
03. True lovers' ferry
04. Perfect Crime / Ernest Durham's
05. Honest man
06. Pearl hart
07. Out of our hands
08. False light
09. Gog magog
10. Dear Lilly

Greatly anticipated third album by acclaimed UK folk roots supergroup The Willows. The band's debut 'Beneath Our Humble Soil' (produced by Stu Hanna) was championed by legendary DJs Mike Harding & Bob Harris who subsequently invited them in for a BBC Radio 2 live session. Considerable national acclaim followed including 4.5 stars in Maverick and a Spiral Earth Award nomination for Best Debut. Their follow up 'Amidst Fiery Skies' (produced by Sean Lakeman) received a 5-Star review in the Telegraph and a spot in their albums of the year. With numerous festival appearances from Cambridge to Glastonbury they grew a reputation as one of the UK's most exciting live acts and were nominated for Best Band in the 2014 FATEA awards. Their new line-up is bursting with vocal and instrumental talent from across the UK roots scene. Stylistically the band continue to take in influences from folk, americana and rock traditions and meld them through their own engaging songwriting. Although it has to be said this line-up and album has more of the power and edge of their live shows than either predecessor. Lyrical songwriting is once again at the heart of the record... Initially direct and personal, the angst-ridden americana opener Coda is offset by the beautifully optimistic Better Days. Perfect Crime drives home a tale of identity fraud during the Great War; Pearl Hart of a notorious 19th century highwaywoman; and the heartbreaking ballad Out of Our Hands laments the horrors of the battle of Solferino. Fronted by the distinctively tender vocals of Jade Rhiannon the band adds Katriona Gilmore (Gilmore & Roberts, The Albion Band) on fiddle to their line-up along with Ben Savage (Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage) on guitar/dobro, Evan Carson (Sam Kelly, Seth Lakeman) on drums/bodhran and Cliff Ward on banjo/guitar.

The Willows - Through the Wild

The Willows

CD (Cat No: 324567)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

The Willows - Through the Wild

More from The Willows