Home / The Unthanks / The Unthanks - Diversions Volume 2: (with Brighouse & Rastick Brass Band)

The Unthanks
01. The King of Rome
02. Trimdon Grain Explosion
03. George
04. The Happiness or Otherwise of Society (Jack Elliott)
05. The Fathers Song
06. George II
07. My Lagan Love
08. Queen of Hearts
09. Gan to the Kye
10. Felton Lonnin
11. Blue Bleezing Blind Drunk
12. Newcastle Lullaby
13. Gresford (The Miner's Hymn)
14. Farweel Regality

"Diversions Vol 2. constitutes perhaps the most daring and accomplished of musical adventures to date for The Unthanks. Their paradoxical marriage of staunch traditionalism and sonic adventure continues in the shape of brand new collaboration with Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band, known as the best public subscription band in the world, celebrating their second successive year as National Champions of Great Britain.
The record is the culmination of a project that began as a commission from Brass: Durham International Festival, with Unthanks pianist, composer and producer Adrian McNally writing The Father s Suite: a four movement piece in celebration of Rachel Unthank and McNally's first child, born four weeks before the sold-out, premiere in Durham Cathedral.
""I grew up in the former mining village of South Hiendley, about two miles from Grimethorpe, home of the most famous colliery band in the world,"" explains McNally. ""I was 11 when everything changed in 1984. Brass band music was part of the fabric, and something I absorbed as a child, which is probably why I find it so emotive as an adult. Folk song and brass band music may be different musical disciplines but often both were designed to speak for and be spoken by the same people"".
Despite having no training and being unable to read or write music, with the assistance of Unthanks fiddler player Niopha Keegan, Adrian McNally has written brass scores for approximately half this record. The other half features songs that have previously appeared on Unthanks albums, with The Unthanks arrangements adapted for brass by conductor Sandy Smith.
Amongst the new material is Tommy Armstrong's Trimdon Grange Explosion, written 150 years ago about a Durham mining disaster. ""74 people died, among them boys as young as 11,"" explains Rachel Unthank. McNally's The Father's Suite features spoken word by Jack Elliott (of the famous Elliott's of Birtley, taken from a BBC film about his life) and an adaptation of Ewan MacColl's Father's Song, with a new tune written by McNally, unable to find a copy of the original tune to hand at the point of writing and keen to press on while the creative iron was hot. The project also sees debut lead vocal performances by Unthank members Niopha Keegan and Chris Price and the record kicks off with the televised performance of King of Rome that was so rapturously received at the BBC Folk Awards earlier this year.
While all the tracks on this record were recorded live in concert halls, cathedrals and town halls; some in front of an audience and some not; it should not be regarded as a 'live album', in the lowly, lesser sense of the term. A live album would normally contain pieces that an artist has recorded more definitive studio versions of previously. That is not the case here. The scale of a brass band and the practicalities of singing with them almost necessitates live performance anyway, so why not in front of an audience? For better or worse, these are the definitive versions!"

The Unthanks - Diversions Volume 2: (with Brighouse & Rastick Brass Band)

The Unthanks

CD (Cat No: 50044)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

The Unthanks - Diversions Volume 2: (with Brighouse & Rastick Brass Band)

More from The Unthanks