Home / Simpson Martin / Martin Simpson - Rooted

Simpson Martin
01. Trouble brought me here
02. Kimbie
03. Born human
04. Ken small
05. Hills of Shiloh
06. Henry Gray
07. Who's going to shoe your pretty little foot?
08. Queen Jane
09. Joe Bowers
10. Fool me once
11. Kingfisher
12. Neo
13. More than enough
14. Arbutus turnaround
15. A blues
16. Bonny kate
17. Mama, it ain't long
18. Queen Jane (instrumental)
19. Waenglapiau
20. Who's going to shoe your pretty little foot? (instrumental)

Deluxe 2 CD edition.

Singer, songwriter and guitar virtuoso Martin Simpson will release his brand new studio album Rooted on August 30. Produced by Andy Bell and recorded in Sheffield and Oxfordshire. Summing up the themes of his new album, Martin says: "The music and songs embrace nature and travel, mental health, real life stories, loss, politics and history... and the threads that bind all this together can be followed back a long way, to 1965 when I got my first guitar and started to soak up material and ideas at a very rapid rate."

Rooted features an array of stellar guest musicians, including Nancy Kerr (fiddle and viola), Andy Cutting (melodeon and diatonic accordion), Liz Hanks (cello), John Smith (electric guitar and vocals), Ben Nicholls (string bass and electric bass guitar), Julie Matthews (vocals), Alan Barnes (clarinet), Max Simpson (vocals), Amy Smith (vocals), Chris While (vocals) and Tom A Wright (drums and percussion). Richard Hawley and Dom Flemons contribute backing vocals and bones respectively to first single 'Neo'. As well as vocals, Martin himself plays banjola, 5-string banjo, 6-string fretless banjo, electric bass guitar and electric and resonator guitars!

Martin Simpson - Rooted

Simpson Martin

CD (Cat No: 345567)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Martin Simpson - Rooted

More from Simpson Martin