Home / Oates Jackie / Jackie Oates - Lullabies

Oates Jackie
01. Dream Angus
02. Dandling Songs
03. Waiting for the Lark
04. Alexander Beetle / Farewell Nel
05. Bi Bi Og Blaka
06. The Posy Rhyme
07. The Worthy wood Carol
08. Sofuau Unga astin Min / Sofi sofi Barnid
09. Philomel
10. Little fishes / The Rainy Day fisherman
11. Junk
12. The Cradle Is Green
13. When I Was A Lady
14. Wexford Lullaby

Collection of traditional and contemporary lullabies and sleep songs recorded in England and Iceland by multi-BBC Folk Award winning folk artist Jackie Oates. Jackie Oates: 'For a long time I've been fascinated with lullabies, often being struck by the way that, for adults, hearing them can bring back strong memories and feelings of being a child again. Over the past few months, I've had a wonderful time exploring my interest in these songs in more detail; from the folklore of the cradle with its superstitions and customs, to the way in which lullabies can be outlets for the many aspects of parenthood. Through these unique songs children often uncomprehendingly becomes a parent's confidant, hearing of the joys, grievances and anxieties of the adult world. At other times they are moral tales, bribes for good behaviour or spells to comfort. The variety of material, style and purpose has made this a fascinating journey. What, for me, has come to light most of all has been the hidden nature of some of the richest of the traditional lullabies from England and beyond. They have been tucked away in song collections, manuscripts and memories and given little real status in the traditional song repertoire. Through this project I'm excited to be giving new life to these lullabies and to be putting a spotlight on this beautiful and very special form of song.'

Jackie Oates - Lullabies

Oates Jackie

CD (Cat No: 51502)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Jackie Oates - Lullabies

More from Oates Jackie