Home / Martyn Joseph / Martyn Joseph - Sanctuary

Martyn Joseph
01. I Searched For You
02. When Will We Find
03. The Light of Guatemala
04. Bobby
05. The Luxury of Despair
06. Are you Ready?
07. Her Name is Rose
08. Girl Soldier
09. Cherry Blossom Girl
10. Sanctuary
11. Land of Evermore

Martyn Joseph has gone back to the future - and a man he describes as "an amazing doctor of sound" - for his new album. Sanctuary, the Welsh singer-songwriter's twenty first studio release in a prolific career spanning four decades, finds him reunited with Ben Wisch, the three time Grammy Award-winning producer who helmed 1992's Being There. When the two originally got together, Joseph had signed to Sony Records and Wisch had masterminded Marc Cohn's smash hit single, 'Walking In Memphis'. Joseph and Wisch convened at the latter's house in Ridgewood, New Jersey, where they recorded the guts of Sanctuary with a stellar cast of musicians, including guitarist Kevin Barry (Mary Chapin Carpenter, Ray LaMontagne), bassist Zev Katz (Jeff Beck, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen) and drummer Ben Whittman (Paul Simon, Laurie Anderson, Rosanne Cash), providing "added vibe and nuance". His joy in recording Sanctuary is equalled by the joy of listening to the completed work, which musically pools myriad influences and is lyrically contemplative, honest and big-hearted. Sanctuary affirms Joseph's reputation as the Welsh Springsteen, an amazing live performer, renowned craftsman and guitarist whose songs profoundly articulate the human condition.


November 2015        

Martyn Joseph - Sanctuary

Martyn Joseph

CD (Cat No: 456678)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Martyn Joseph - Sanctuary

More from Martyn Joseph