Home / Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real / Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real - Turn Off the News Build a Garden

Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real
01. Bad case
02. Turn off the news (build a garden)
03. Where does love go
04. Save a little heartache
05. Lotta fun
06. Civilised fun
07. Mystery
08. Simple life
09. Out in LA
10. Something real
11. Stars made of you
12. Turn off the news (build a garden) Acoustic
13. Consider it heaven
Since releasing an album in 2017, Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real have played 200-plus shows — both on their own and with Neil Young, inspiring some of the legend’s fieriest shows in years. “They have no fear,” Young told RS. “They’re much better players than I am. Lukas is like a gunslinger.”
The band took that fire and experience into the studio for their new album, Turn Off the News (Build a Garden), out June 14th, where they double down on their psychedelic cowboy anthems, with help from friends including Sheryl Crow, Kesha and Young himself. The album features everything from soaring wall-of-sound arrangements (the Roy Orbison–inspired “Where Does Love Go”) to wildly fun country-rock throwdowns like the joyous twin-guitar jam “Civilized Hell” — a duet between Lukas and his dad Willie — and twangy road anthem “Lotta Fun,” with Margo Price. Another highlight is “Save a Little Heartache” a funky stomper with Kesha on backing vocals.
One of the album’s big themes is trying to find peace and happiness in a world of chaos. On title track “Turn Off the News,” Lukas details his attempt to focus on love instead of other things he can’t control: “Maybe I’ll turn off the fuckin’ news,” he sings. The song has become a new crowd favorite.
“We wanted these songs to be fun and upbeat,” Nelson said. “But we also wanted to have something to say. Rock & roll began as a countercultural movement, so in the true spirit of rock & roll, we’re trying to encourage a lifestyle where people can be active in their local communities, rather than glued to a device. We listen to so many artists — the Byrds, Tom Petty, Al Green, Neil Young, Little Feat, J.J. Cale — and this album carries forth something they all represented, the idea of turning off the news and doing something constructive. It’s a statement about how you can live your life with your heart leading the way.”
Other guests on the LP include Nelson’s brother Micah, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward, Hunter Elizabeth and more. Nelson said they enlisted the album’s many collaborators with his heroes the Band in mind. “They supported so many incredible people throughout their career, but they were also focused on their own music,” he said. “We’re the same way. We want to see good music and great artists succeed, because a rising tide raises all ships. We’re cheering for our friends, just as they’re cheering for us.”

Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real - Turn Off the News Build a Garden

Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real

CD (Cat No: )

£12.99 - £27.99
Add To Basket Add To Basket Listen to the album

Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real - Turn Off the News Build a Garden 

More from Lukas Nelson and Promise of the Real