Home / Lucinda Williams / Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels on a Gravel Road

Lucinda Williams
01. Right In Time
02. Car Wheels on a Gravel Road
03. 2 Kool 2 Be 4 Gotten
04. Drunken Angel
05. Concrrete & Barbed Wire
06. Lake Charles
07. Can't Let It Go
08. I Lost It
09. Metal Firecracker
10. Greenville
11. Still I Long For Your Kiss
12. Joy
13. Jackson
Brilliant 1998 classic album of tales of dusty trails! A must have in your collection.
Lucinda Williams makes this whole music thing seem so simple: Write in plain language about the people and places that crowd your memory; add subtle flavors of a mandolin here, a Dobro there, perhaps an accordion or slide guitar; above all, sing as honestly and naturally as you can. Of course, it took her six years to achieve this simplicity, an amazing achievement considering the number of knobs that were turned. Her exquisite voice moans and groans and slips and slides--she delivers a polished tone in a coarse manner. On the superb "Concrete and Barbed Wire", soft acoustic guitars are punctuated by electric slide, accordion, mandolin, and Steve Earle's harmony. Williams's deeply personal stories are matched with bluesy rumbles, raunchy grooves, and plaintive whispers. The entire Deep South is reduced to a sleepy small town filled with ex-lovers, dive bars, and endless gravel roads. --Marc Greilsamer


Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels on a Gravel Road

Lucinda Williams

CD (Cat No: 699987)


Currently Out Of Stock

Listen to the album

Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels on a Gravel Road

More from Lucinda Williams