Home / Rusby Kate / Kate Rusby - Hand Me Down

Rusby Kate
01. Manic Monday
02. Everglow
03. Days
04. If I Had A Boat
05. Maybe Tomorrow
06. The Show
07. Shake It Off
08. True Colours
09. Carolina On My Mind
10. Love Of The Common People
11. Friday I'm In Love
12. Three Little Birds

Kate Rusby's album, Hand Me Down, started life a few years ago whilst she was rehearsing for the Jo Whiley Show on BBC Radio 2. Jo asks her live music guests to perform songs of their own plus any cover version of their choice, Kate's choice at that time was Oasis' "Don't Go Away"; on her second visit to the show she chose by 'Friday I'm in Love' by The Cure.

"As a folk singer, it's what I do, re-interpret existing songs, but usually the songs are much, much older. After playing a version of Oasis' 'Don't Go Away' on the BBC Radio 2 Jo Whiley show, about 5 years ago, it dawned on me that not just the very old songs are handed down through the generations, but also favourite songs of any age, of any generation. Songs are precious for many different reasons. With 'Don't Go Away' proving so popular on the last album and hearing the reaction when we performed it on tour, I decided, "Right, that's it!  I am doing a whole album of covers."

It was always the plan to make this album this year, lock-down just made it more intimate. We have laughed and we have cried, we have danced and we have sung. All of that is here, engrained in every track."

July 2020

UPDATE: Limited edition vinyl released on 22nd January 2021. Orange vinyl.

Kate Rusby - Hand Me Down

Rusby Kate

CD (Cat No: 87668)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Kate Rusby - Hand Me Down 

More from Rusby Kate