Home / Hosking Rita / HOSKING RITA - BURN

Hosking Rita
01. Something You Got
02. When Miners Sang
03. Crash and Burn
04. Ballad for the Gulf of Mexico

Rita Hosking – Burn

Rita’s previous album ‘Come Sunrise’ has been a favourite here for the last couple of years, and this new collection is even better with 11 crafted country-folk songs that feel like an honest representation and glimpse into modern blue collar America.

A powerful lyricist, she’s skilled at capturing the detail and colour of a situation and presenting them in a manner that creates atmosphere – much of that comes from her restrained vocals that are delivered with real conviction.

Produced by Rich Brotherton (Caroline Herring), the musicians providing the soundscape for her songs include Brotherton, and other members of Robert Earl Keen’s band who add bass, drums, guitar and more.

All eleven songs on ‘Burn’ are originals from Rita, and they cover a broad-range of subjects, characters and situations, but they are all delivered with real passion and intensity and she sings every single word with real conviction.

This is a superb modern Americana album, the songs are excellent, the instrumentation beautifully understated and the vocal delivery is delicate but packed with emotional power.


Track listing

1 Something You Got

2 When Miners Sang   

3 Crash and Burn   

4 Indian Giver   

5 How Many Fires   

6 Dishes    

7 My Demolition Man  

8 Ballad for the Gulf of Mexico   

9 The Coyote    

10 My Golden Bull

11 Song for Claire


Hosking Rita

CD (Cat No: 13692)

Add To Basket Listen to the album


More from Hosking Rita