Home / Gilmore Thea / Thea Gilmore - Small World Turning

Gilmore Thea
01. Mockingbird
02. Cutteslowe walls
03. Glory
04. Don't dim your light for anyone
05. The fuse
06. Karr's lament
07. Grandam gold
08. The revisionist
09. Blowback
10. Shake off those chains
11. The loading game
12. Dreamers

Thea Gilmore releases "Small World Turning" on May 17 - her first new collection of songs since 2017's "The Counterweight" which was her 3rd successive top 40 album. She also embarks on a UK tour with her band and support from Matt Owens (Noah And The Whale). 

An artist of enduring international acclaim (Bruce Springsteen regularly names her as a favourite) and a justly revered lyricist, Gilmore's musical settings have taken many ingenious detours in recent years. "Small World Turning" nails it's colours to a very different wall from the get-go. Acoustic guitars are back to the fore, and a quintessentially rootsy array of instruments frame them - fiddles, whistles, mandolins, tenor banjos are all in abundance. "Small World Turning" is an album with an unashamed folk flavor and features contributions from Cara Dillon, Seth Lakeman, Sam Lakeman, Katriona Gilmore, Jamie Roberts and BBC Radio 2's Young Folk Award winner 2013 Ciaran Algar. 

A gifted and exceptional artist at the peak of her powers, Thea Gilmore has delivered a vibrant and deeply resonant album, rooted in folk music but completely transcending any genre related limitations.  

"Unarguably one of the finest singer-songwriters of her generation" - Sunday Times Culture "The best wordsmith of her generation" - The Independent

Thea Gilmore - Small World Turning

Gilmore Thea

CD (Cat No: )

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Thea Gilmore - Small World Turning 

More from Gilmore Thea