Home / Coe, Peters & Smyth / The Road To Peterloo - Coe, Peters & Smyth

Coe, Peters & Smyth
01. The Triumph of Liberty
02. Arise You Sons of Freedom
03. The Drummer Boy For Waterloo
04. The Weaver's Sweet Home
05. Jone O'Grinfield
06. Cropper Lads
07. Tom Paine
08. You Tyrants of England
09. Spotted Borders / Rolling Bet
10. With Henry Hunt We'll Go
11. Rise Britons, Rise
12. John Stafford's Song
13. St Ethelstone's Day
14. The Pride of Peterloo
15. Chartist Anthem
16. Kersall Moor

‘The Road to Peterloo’ tells the story of one of the most notorious incidents in British labour history – the ‘Peterloo Massacre’ in Manchester in 1819 – through some of the many broadside ballads that were printed around the time of the event. Three singers and musicians from North West England – Pete Coe, Brian Peters and Laura Smyth – trace the story from its roots in the poverty and hunger suffered by handloom weavers in the early 19th century. Their songs describe the terrible events of the day itself, when mounted soldiers charged a peaceful crowd demanding votes for all and killed or injured many men, women and children by their indiscriminate use of sabres, and tell of later political developments inspired by the carnage.

Laura, Brian and Pete present a trove of freshly-discovered material, with ballads sourced from Dr Alison Morgan’s new book on the broadsides of the day, 'Ballads and Songs of Peterloo', and from their own research, with many set to original tunes. Between them they offer three fine voices and instrumental skills on concertina, melodeon, bouzouki, guitar, cello and banjo, and add to the mix period dance music from the Manchester area. ‘The Road to Peterloo’ is touring the UK during the bicentennial year 2019.


June 2019

The Road To Peterloo - Coe, Peters & Smyth

Coe, Peters & Smyth

CD (Cat No: 324456)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

The Road To Peterloo - Coe, Peters & Smyth