Home / Aoife ODonovan / Aoife O'Donovan - In The Magic Hour (Deluxe - Bonus CD)

Aoife ODonovan
01. Stanley Park
02. Magic Hour
03. Porch Light
04. Hornets
05. Magpie
06. The King of All Birds
07. Not The Leaving
08. Detour Sign
09. Jupiter
10. Magic Hour (Acoustic EP)
11. The King of All Birds (Acoustic EP)
12. Stanley Park (Acoustic EP)
13. Nebraska (Acoustic EP)
14. Porch Light (Acoustic EP)
15. You Turn Me on I'm A Radio (Acoustic EP)

Aoife O'Donovan sophomore album, "In the Magic Hour" - produced by Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Neko Case) and out Jan. 22, 2016via Yep Roc Records and available now - is a 10-song album full of the singer's honeyed vocals mixed with gauzy, frictionless sounds: splashing cymbals, airy harmonies, the leisurely baritone musings of an electric guitar. Written in the wake of O'Donovan's grandfather's death, "In the Magic Hour" is her most introspective effort yet, an aching exploration of memory and mortality. For a decade, O'Donovan wielded her instrument with tensile strength as the captivating lead singer of the Boston-based progressive string band Crooked Still. She was a featured vocalist on "The Goat Rodeo Sessions," the Grammy-winning album by Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile, has made regular appearances on A Prairie Home Companion and collaborated with some of the most eminent names in music across a wide variety of genres from Alison Krauss to Dave Douglas In 2013 O'Donovan released her debut solo album, "Fossils," a moody collection of original songs with a country lilt. The album garnered praise from The New York Times and Rolling Stone, while The Guardian deemed O'Donovan the "next Americana celebrity." Most recently O'Donovan has lent her voice to the folk trio I'm With Her with singers Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek) and Sarah Jarosz.     

The deluxe edition has bonus CD with six acoustic tracks.



January 2016

Aoife O'Donovan - In The Magic Hour (Deluxe - Bonus CD)

Aoife ODonovan

CD (Cat No: 3254667)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Aoife O'Donovan - In The Magic Hour (Deluxe - Bonus CD)

More from Aoife ODonovan