Home / Eilen Jewell / Eilen Jewell - Down Hearted Blues

Eilen Jewell
01. It's Your Voodoo Working
02. Another Night To Cry
03. You'll Be Mine
04. Down Hearted Blues
05. I'm A Little Mixed Up
06. You Gonna Miss Me
07. Walking with Frankie
08. Nothing In Rambling
09. Don't Leave Poor Me
10. Crazy Mixed Up World
11. You Know My Love
12. The Poor Girl's Story

On her seventh studio album, Down Hearted Blues, Eilen Jewell steps back in time to unearth 12 vintage blues gems written or made famous by an array of artists, from Willie Dixon and Memphis Minnie to Charles Sheffield and Betty James.

Like expert stonecutters, she and her band chiseled the songs into exciting new shapes and forms, honoring history while breathing new life into each discovery. Recorded live and in just two days, Down Hearted Blues finds Jewell making each song her own, while paying homage to her beloved inspirations. We really love to uncover the past. Its almost like digging for buried treasure, Jewell says. For me, thats where music is at. I like all kinds of music as long as theres the word early in front of it.

September 2017




Eilen Jewell - Down Hearted Blues

Eilen Jewell

CD (Cat No: 322145)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Eilen Jewell - Down Hearted Blues

More from Eilen Jewell