Home / Klein Jess / Jess Klein - Back to my green (pre-order)

Klein Jess
01. In dreams
02. Tougher than I seem
03. Mammal
04. Blair Mountain
05. Back to my green
06. New Thanksgiving feast
07. Gates of Hell
08. 4 the girlz
09. Kid
10. I hear love

The New York Times calls Jess Klein “A songwriter with a voice of unblinking tenacity.”  Over two decades and 11 albums, Klein has built a powerfully personal body of work that reflects an instinctive emotional insight, an organic sense of introspection and an unshakable social conscience. Her newest release, Back to My Green explores what it means to maintain hopefulness in America in 2019.  It also reflects a bevy of changes in Klein’s personal life, including a new marriage to fellow songwriter Mike June and a cross-country move from the “Live Music Capital” of Austin, TX to rural North Carolina.  Back to My Green is a deeply felt set of original tunes that embodies the same intensity that made Klein’s prior releases so powerful, while adding a playful sensibility that reflects the inspiration of her new surroundings. Such new compositions as "In Dreams," "Tougher Than I Seem" and "Mammal" pulse with 60’s era MoTown grooves and Atlantic records-style orchestration while "Blair Mountain" and "New Thanksgiving Feast" (a tribute to Native American pipeline protestors) reflect Klein’s folk-rock roots.  Co-produced by Klein and North Carolina native Mark Simonsen (The Old Ceremony, Weems/Gerrard Band, film scores: Elephant Sighs, Radiation Veterans and Rareified) and Engineer Thom Canova (Amy Ray, 4 Non-Blondes, Oranj Symphonette), these ten new tracks resonate with feeling, painting a dynamic backdrop for Klein’s singular mezzo-soprano and incisive lyrics.

Jess Klein - Back to my green (pre-order)

Klein Jess

CD (Cat No: 1939849)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Jess Klein - Back to my green 

More from Klein Jess