Home / Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage / Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage - Awake

Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage
01. Selkie Song
02. I Met A Man
03. Way Over Yonder in the Minor Key
04. A Thousand New Moons
05. Every Night When The Sun Goes IN
06. 7
07. Reynardine
08. Santa Fe Trail
09. Awake
10. One Grain of Sand
11. Reaching

Spellbinding UK folk duo release the follow up to acclaimed debut Before The Sun, included in numerous 2016 Albums of The Year lists including the fRoots Critics Poll. Joining back up with Toronto producer David Travers-Smith (Wailin Jennys, Madison Violet, Ruth Moody) the pair create exquisite transatlantic soundscapes on which to base their beguiling, intimate indie-folk duets. A duo who delve into the mysterious and often like to release music in line with the lunar calendar, their live show sees them huddled around a single microphone, drawing the audience in. And so it is with this magnetic album, where their own intensely moving songs flow seamlessly among reinvigorated traditional gems and the Guthrie/Bragg americana classic Way Over Yonder In The Minor Key. Alongside their own guitars, mountain dulcimer and dobro they are joined by an all-star cast from both sides of the big pond including double bass from Jon Thorne (Lamb, Scott Matthews), vocals from Oh Susanna, Jess Morgan and Gilmore & Roberts, percussion from Evan Carson (The Willows, Sam Kelly), pedal steel from Burke Carroll (Kathleen Edwards, Justin Rutledge) and Chris Coole on banjo.     

May 2018

Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage - Awake

Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage

CD (Cat No: 32245)

Add To Basket Listen to the album

Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage - Awake

More from Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage